Leinster u16 football championships

Thank you to Grace and Hannah for their excellent report and photos from yesterday's game.

Ardscoil Rathangan crowned Leinster Champs!
Ardscoil Rathangan 2-22 Skerries C.S. 4-4
May 4th, 2016.
Arriving early in Leixlip GAA grounds to meet their opponent Skerries C.S. they prepared themselves for the fight ahead. After winning the throw up Rathangan were straight into
action and scored a quick goal from Tiegan Kenny, showing Skerries that Rathangan were not going to be an easy opponent. Fifteen minutes in and Rathangan were leading 1-3 to a point. Skerries weren’t letting the score affect them and had Rathangan on their toes after an almost goal. It was Oisin O’Loughlin who cleared it and between DJ Earley and Rob Walsh they worked it up the field, one smart pass from full forward Tiegan Kenny to Jack McEvoy earned the lads a lovely point. Rathangan only grew stronger, brilliant play from the half back line saw Rathangan score 4 unanswered points. As the half time whistle blew Rathangan led 1-12 to 4 points.

Rathangan kept the momentum alive in the second half and controlled the game exceptionally well. Skerries frustration showed when Rathangan were awarded frees for numerous fouls. A goal opportunity arose from Peter Byrne but was shut down by an excellent block from Skerries full back. Rathangan put their faith in two players that just returned from long term injuries Adam Kelly and Shane O’Loughlin starting the Leinster final as their first school match of the year. Making his big comeback Shane showed he was anything but incapable of the task laid out for him and scored the next two points of the game. Rathangan supporters were left on the edge of their seats after Skerries scored 3 consecutive goals in the last 8 minutes but that only fueled Rathangan to power on. After a great display of teamwork Ryan Ivers buried the ball in the back of the net. The ref’s final whistle deemed Rathangan Leinster Champions with a scoreline of 2-22 to 4-4.