Senior Boys qualify for the All Ireland football final

Ardscoil Rath Iomghain 2-12  Our Lady’s Belmullet 2-3


The Senior boys football team created history today qualifying for the schools first ever All Ireland football final. They faced a strong Belmullet team today who hadn’t been beaten in Senior football in two years having won the All Ireland Senior D Final last year and included no less than 11 of that panel in todays starting  team. Belmullet had  tougher matches in their provincial championship winning the Connaught final after extra time while Ardscoil Rath Iomghain were comfortable provisional winners. This may have had an influence in Belmullet’s dominance in the early exchanges as they raced into a two point lead and had most of the possession in the early exchanges. Rathangan were defending well and forcing errors and Eoghan Fitzpatrick pulled of a fantastic save to stop them falling further behind.


Rathangan finally opened their scoring with a point from Shane Maughan. They then got a well worked goal with a move started by Daniel Mulpeter and finished by Jimmy Hyland after he rounded the goalkeeper. This put Rathangan into a lead that they would never relinguish for the rest of the game. Shane O Brien then added a point before a couple more from Jimmy Hyland. Rathangan then had a chance to put daylight between the teams but Patrick Mc Hale pulled of a fantastic save from a one on one chance with Jason Dempsey. Rathangan had another chance from the penalty spot a few minutes later but Conor Jamieson was unlucky to see his shot flash narrowly wide.  Shane O Brien finished of the scoring for the first half after an excellent solo run and dummy before calmly slotting over the bar.

Half time score 1-5 to 0-2

Rathangan started the second half brightly with another fine point from Shane O Brien but their joy was short lived after Belmullet converted a penalty after a foot block infringement. Jimmy Hyland added another point before the goalkeeper made a flying save from a Hyland fisted effort after O Brien did well to keep the ball in play. Conor Jamieson added a fine point to extend the lead to 1-8 to 1-2. Eoghan Fitzpatrick pulled of another fine save with his leg and Belmullet were putting Rathangan under a lot of pressure . When one of their  subs scored a goal the game was finely in the balance with only 3 points between the sides. Rathangan then introduced their captain Stefan Lawlor who was returning from injury . He made an immediate impact within two minutes when he was fouled in the box for the third penalty of the game . Shane O Brien made no mistake blasting the ball to the net .Rathangan added further points with two from Hyland and one from Conor O loughlin . Aaron Whelan and Paul Maloney were marshalling the defence well and Belmullet were trying to force a goal to get back in the game. Aaron Healy finished of the scoring for Belmullet blasting a close in free over the bar via the post but Sean Glennon ensured Rathangan had the final say with the last point of the game.

Ardscoil Rath Iomghain were delighted with the result but will know improvements will have to be made and mistakes eliminated in order to capture the All Ireland title in three weeks time. They will face a strong Colaiste Ghobnatain from Cork who beat St Louis Kilkeel (Down ) by 1-9 to 0-3 today.They should be formidable opposition as they have won the last two Munster Senior C titles. The final is provisionally fixed for Saturday April 4th at a venue to be decided.

Congrats to all the panel and Mr Cryan and Mr Kirwan 

Team and Scorers Eoghan Fitzpatrick, Tommy Ryan, Paul Maloney,Aaron Whelan, Sean Glennon (0-1), Darragh Malone, Conor Jamieson (0-1), Ciaran Maher, Cian O Neill ,Shane Maughan (0-1) Jason Dempsey, Conor O Loughlin (0-1), Daniel Mulpeter, Shane O Brien (1-3), Jimmy Hyland (1-5)Subs, Robin Galbraith for T Ryan 37 mins ,Stefan Lawlor Capt for J Dempsey 45 mins,, James Byrnefor C o’Neill 55mins, Ross Teehan for J Hyland 55 mins Jack Hendy,William Dunne,Daryl Dunne, Jack Gorry, Jack O Keefe, Craig Walsh

Management Mr Cryan and Mr Kirwan